WhatsApp has finally added a new feature that’s been rumoured for a while now, the ability to revoke chats you’ve already sent out.
After testing the feature for most of this year, it’s finally out in the wild with the latest update. The patch now lets you delete a message up to seven minutes after you’ve sent it.
It’s not just one on one threads either, you can even revoke a text from a group chat. However, both users involved would need to have the new version of the app for the feature to work, so don’t expect to erase your embarrassing mistakes if someone in the group hasn’t updated yet.
The feature is currently rolling out to WhatsApp users through this week. You’ll see the new delete option when you select your chat on your phone, allowing you to “delete for everyone” instead of just from your device. It still has some kinks so WhatsApp warns recipients may still see your chat if it somehow fails to delete, and may even still be able to read it in an unread notification once it’s been removed..
Either way, it’s still a handy feature to have when you accidentally text sweet nothings to your boss instead of your girlfriend, or make the worst alcohol-induced typo.